My HAJJ Experience

 

MY PERSONAL HAJJ EXPERIENCE

Here’s a  quick rundown on my personal experience of Hajj. Hajj was awesome – It was the most amazing experience I have had in my life. I’ve travelled a lot over the years and all the places I’ve seen such as the Grand Canyon and Niagara falls etc… seemed totally insignificant when I went to Mecca and took part in the Hajj pilgrimage. Although I already know that I’m on the true path – it opened my eyes up even more when I mingled with people from every corner of the World. I lost touch with everything that was going on for over 3 weeks. I only started missing my wife Asiya and the kids when we went to a Medina which had a totally different atmosphere and wasn’t as hectic as Mecca. Asiya and kids are now keen to make the trip after I went thru the 300+ photos that I had taken.

To hear the Azan (call to prayer) and listen to the fantastic Qirath (recitation of the Holy Qur’an) whilst looking at the Ka’aba with my own eyes was fantastic. Praying in the prophets Masjid and visiting his grave in Medina was also very touching for me. I look forward to the day when I can take the rest of my family Insha Allah (God Willing).

The Black cube is "The House of Allah (swt)". First built by Hazrat Adam (as) then rebuilt by Hazrat Ibrahim (as) and his son Hazrat Ishmael (as) and is referred to as the Ka’aba in Arabic. Before the prophet Muhammad came with the message of one true God, the Ka’aba contained over 360 idols which the people at the time (Khuraish) worshiped (i.e polytheism). These were all destroyed and this is the place that All Muslims face when praying (Qibla) and it is in Mecca (Saudi Arabia). The small Gold structure in front of the Ka’aba has two footprints contained within it – these are the footprints of the prophet Ibrahim (as).

The Muslim calendar starts from the day that the prophet Muhammad and his companions migrated to Medina as they were being persecuted by a tribe known as the Khuraish for preaching monotheism. The people of Medina welcomed the prophet and his companions and the first Masjid was built there. So we visit Medina to pay respects to the prophet and visit his burial place which is within the Masjid (along with graves of his closest companions Abu Bakr and Umar – peace be upon them). There is a place left for prophet Isa (Jesus) – pbuh to be buried as we believe that he will come back before the end of time to Fight Dajjal (Anti-christ) then live a normal life and be buried before the Day of Judgment (Al-Qiyamma).

Note that although visiting the prophets Masjid and grave in Medina is recommended it is NOT compulsory and NOT part of Hajj – so if one has time restrictions due to work or whatever Hajj can still be performed without visiting Medina – over the recommended period of 5 days.

Please select HAJJ 2005 in the Photo Album section to view/download the pictures that I took.

Incidentally, apart from this life changing experience – my wife changed my life for the better when she accepted ISLAM from the faith that she was brought up with, namely Hinduism.  I suppose you could call me a ‘born again Muslim’ because I only started fully following the teachings of Islam after my wife accepted the Truth. It’s a very long story and we’re talking over 12 years ago now.. I introduced her to Islam and 1 year before we decided to get married she decided to revert after attending classes and learning more about this glorious faith.  This stirred something up inside me — after all why would somebody go against something they were born with unless there was some truth in it.  I also started reading more and learning about Islam in depth and realised what I had been missing out on all those years that I was a Muslim by name only and not by action or inner faith.

My Allah (God) guide us all to the true path. 

Please feel free to e-mail me direct with any queries at any time, my personal address is qasim@writeme.com and my work address is khalid.khan@eds.com

Leave a Reply

